The universe is making music all the time

Posts Tagged ‘John Talabot

Fractured Air x Blogothèque – S02E06 | June mix

leave a comment »



June’s mixtape features a first listen of “Golden Plover”, Glasgow’s finest Trembling Bells’ stunning cover of the Bert Jansch song taken from his 1979 avian-themed classic “Avocet”. The track is part of the special 4-track EP “Avocet Revisited”, commissioned and issued by Fire Records’ imprint Earth Recordings, featuring: Trembling Bells; Edwyn Collins and Carwyn Ellis; Modern Studies; Alasdair Roberts.
On “Golden Plover”, Trembling Bells are joined by Callum Calderwood (violin), Rory Haye (vocals), Andrew Pattie (vocals) and Belle & Sebastian’s Stevie Jackson (12 string guitar). “Avocet Revisited” will be released by Earth Recordings on the 11th of August 2017.

One of the UK’s finest indie bands The Clientele return with “Music for the Age of Miracles” (Merge Records) this Autumn, their first new album in seven years. Thus far the irresistible lead single “Lunar Days” has been unveiled, finding the beloved Alasdair MacLean-led band in typically impeccable form, effortlessly fusing a myriad of influences into miniature pop marvels like only they can.

June’s mixtape also features new releases from: Ariel Pink’s new single “Another Weekend”, from the hugely anticipated forthcoming Mexican Summer album “Dedicated to Bobby Jameson”; Grizzly Bear’s “Painted Ruins”, one of 2017’s most eagerly anticipated albums and follow-up to 2012’s sonic marvel “Shields”; Renowned Irish contemporary classical collective Crash Ensemble release their glorious “Ghosts” album – featuring compositions written by Nico Muhly, Donnacha Dennehy and Valgeir Sigurðsson – which is released via Icelandic independent Bedroom Community.

Fractured Air x Blogothèque – S02E06 | June mix


To listen on La Blogothèque:


01. Virginia Woolf“I. Mrs. Dalloway: Words” (Deutsche Grammophon)
02. The Beacon Sound Choir“Can’t Wrap My Head Around It” (First Terrace)
03. Sufjan Stevens, Bryce Dessner, Nico Muhly & James McAlister“Neptune” (4AD)
04. Crash Ensemble “Past Tundra” (Bedroom Community)
05. Fleet Foxes“I Should See Memphis” (Nonesuch)
06. Trembling Bells“Golden Plover” (Earth Recordings)
07. The Clientele“Lunar Days” (Merge)
08. Bill MacKay“Aster” (Drag City)
09. Ariel Pink“Another Weekend” (Mexican Summer)
10. Justin Walter“Red Cabin” (Kranky)
11. Chromatics“Shadow” (Italians Do It Better)
12. Tobias Bernstrup “27” (12” Version) (Dark Entries)
13. John Talabot“Destiny” (Rave Dub Version) (Permanent Vacation)
14. Daphni“Face to Face” (fabric)
15. Blondes“KDM” (R&S)
16. Laurel Halo“Moontalk” (Hyperdub)
17. Alice Coltrane“Rama Guru” (Luaka Bop)
18. Belbury Poly“The Geography” (Ghost Box)
19. BADBADNOTGOOD“Lavender” (feat. KAYTRANADA & Snoop Dogg) [Nightfall Remix] (Innovative Leisure)
20. Grizzly Bear“Three Rings” (RCA)
21. The Focus Group“The Leaving” (Ghost Box)
22. Gorillaz“Let Me Out” (feat. Mavis Staples & Pusha T) (Parlophone)
23. Aretha Franklin“This Little Light of Mine” (Remember)
24. Philippe Hallais“Hero (Theme)” (Modern Love)
25. Oliver Coates“Peace” (Foom)
26. Radiohead“I Promise” (XL Recordings)
27. Murcof & Vanessa Wagner“Spiegel Im Spiegel” (InFiné)

Compiled by Fractured Air, June 2017. The copyright in these recordings is the property of the individual artists and/or record labels. If you like the music, please support the artist by buying their records.

Step Right Up: John Talabot

leave a comment »

Words: Mark Carry, illustration: Craig Carry

The best electronic album of the year comes from Barcelona producer supreme, John Talabot. His debut album ‘Fin’, released early in the year on the Permanent Vacation label, will find itself on all the end of the year polls for the best albums of 2012.

As you listen to Talabot’s music, boundaries are magically blurred while genres and styles are seamlessly crossed-over. The record itself is at the intersection of deep house, ambient, disco and indie pop. One can hear shades of Caribou, Four tet, Booka Shade, M83, SBTRKT and Animal Collective amidst Talabot’s woozy ambient house creations. The album’s eleven tracks harness a very distinctive sound with remarkable texture and depth. The first track on the album is the stunning ‘Depak Ine’, the longest cut on the album at seven and a half minutes. Pulsing synths, eerie vocal samples and jungle-like field recordings creates an otherworldly sound of euphoria. On ‘Destiny’, Talabot’s Madrid colleague Pional co-produces with beautifully layered harmonies. ‘El Oeste’ is gorgeously blissed out electronica reminiscent of Boards of Canada and Four tet. ‘Oro Y Sangre’ is full of sublime dance floor-laden melodic hooks conjuring up the sounds of Caribou and Booka Shade. The album closer ‘So Will Be Now…’ is another Pional co production, which loops sampled vocals into a dreamy haze and sparse, deep house groove.

‘Fin’ works for both the dance floor and late night headphones. The record is a euphoric soundscape of blissed out ambient house that casts both dark and light, melancholy and joy. Talabot’s music takes you on an exhilarating and uplifting journey. Audiences from this year’s festivals at Primavera Sound, Sonar, Body & Soul know only all too well. ‘Fin’ is the first of many masterful sonic creations from this incredibly talented producer.

‘Fin’ by John Talabot is available now on Permanent Vacation.

Written by admin

July 24, 2012 at 10:59 am