The universe is making music all the time

Posts Tagged ‘John Maus

Fractured Air x Blogothèque – S02E10 | October mix

leave a comment »


This month saw the eagerly awaited return of prestigious American musician John Maus with the release of ‘Screen Memories’; a synth pop masterpiece (and follow-up to the remarkable 2011 opus ‘We Must Become The Pitiless Censors of Ourselves’). Opening this mix is one of the heavenly synthesizer-based tracks culled from Maus’ recent Bleep mix.

Colleen is an artist very close to our hearts and the release of Cécile Schott’s sixth full-length ‘A flame my love, a frequency’ (via Thrill Jockey) marks 2017’s most bewitching, absorbing and deeply affecting records to have graced the atmosphere. Armed with just electronics and voice, the album’s eight otherworldly compositions transcend space and time: drifting majestically in the ether of unknown dimensions. Colleen’s tour dates (including U.S, North America and Europe) are listed here.

On the 14th & 15th December, the second edition of The Notwist-curated Alien Disko returns to Munich. The festival’s line-up reflects the boundless and pioneering qualities of the chosen acts, from Shabazz Palaces, Konono Nº1 and Amiina to Colleen, Sam Amidon and The Notwist. Tickets are onsale now.

This month’s mix also includes new releases from: Xylouris White; SAICOBAB; Spirit Fest; Lindstrøm; Sufjan Stevens; Gunn – Truscinski Duo and Les Filles de Illighadad.

Fractured Air x Blogothèque – S02E10 | October mix


To listen on La Blogothèque:


01. Peter Davison“Shadow” (Higher Octave Music)
02. John Maus“The Combine” (Ribbon Music)
03. Shabazz Palaces“Moon Whip Quäz” (feat. Darrius) (Sub Pop)
04. John Carpenter“Assault on Precinct 13” (Death Waltz Recording Company)
05. Severed Heads“George the Animal” (Dark Entries)
06. The Velvet Underground“I Can’t Stand It” (Verve)
07. The Cat’s Miaow“Not Like I Was Doing Anything” (Library)
08. Cymbeline“Look at the Stars” (Guerssen)
09. Gunn – Truscinski Duo“Flood and Fire” (Three Lobed Recordings)
10. Les Filles de Illighadad“Abadrarass” (Sahel Sounds)
11. SAICOBAB“One” (Thrill Jockey)
12. Xylouris White“Only Love” (Bella Union)
13. Guelewar“Ya Mom Samaray” (Kindred Spirits)
14. Wallias Band“Muziqawi Silt” (Manteca)
15. Don Cherry“Brown Rice” (EMI)
16. Spiritualized“Feel So Sad (Glides And Chimes)” (Spaceman, Arista)
17. Colleen“The stars vs creatures” (Thrill Jockey)
18. Spectrum“All Night Long” (Silvertone)
19. Slowdive“No Longer Making Time” (Dead Oceans)
20. Spirit Fest“River River” (Alien Transistor)
21. NSRD“Schwenn” (STROOM)
22. Lali Puna“Wear My Heart” (Morr Music)
23. Four Tet “Daughter” (Text)
24. Sufjan Stevens“Wallowa Lake Monster” (Asthmatic Kitty)
25. William Eggleston“On the Street Where You Live” (Secretly Canadian)
26. Lindstrøm“Bungl (Like a Ghost)” [feat. Jenny Hval] (Smalltown Supersound)
27. Daphni“Carry on” (Jiaolong)
28. Blanck Mass“The Rat” (Sacred Bones)
29. Colin Stetson“All this I do for glory” (52Hz)
30. Dirty Three“Moon On The Land” (Bella Union)
31. Cat Power“Metal Heart” (Matador)
32. Marisa Anderson“Amazing Grace” (Mississippi)
33. Jackson C. Frank“Milk and Honey” (Sanctuary)
34. Nick Cave & Warren Ellis“Three Seasons in Wyoming” (Wind River OST) (Invada, Lakeshore)

Compiled by Fractured Air, October 2017. The copyright in these recordings is the property of the individual artists and/or record labels. If you like the music, please support the artist by buying their records.

Mixtape: Across The Universe [A Fractured Air Mix]

leave a comment »


Across The Universe [A Fractured Air Mix]

‘Across The Universe’ is a mixtape inspired by the music (and life) of Susan Schneider (AKA The Space Lady) whose incredible story has inspired anyone who has been fortunate enough to have crossed paths with Susan’s incredible gift for both making music and living life. The following mixtape was compiled to mark The Space Lady’s concert in Cork, Ireland on 12 April 2014.

To listen on Mixcloud:



01. Tom Glazer & Dottie Evans ‘Zoom A Little Zoom (Rocket Ship)’ [Motivation]
02. Dick Hyman & His Orchestra ‘The Liquidator’ [Command]
03. The Beatles ‘Flying’ [Parlophone]
04. Joe Meek ‘I Hear A New World’ [RPM]
05. The Elegants ‘Little Star’ [His Master’s Voice]
06. Etta James ‘At Last’ [Chess]
07. The Ventures ‘El Cumbanchero’ [Liberty]
08. The Velvet Underground & Nico ‘There She Goes Again’ [Polydor]
09. Rachel and the Revolvers ‘Number One’ [Ace]
10. Prelude ‘After the Goldrush’ [After Hours]
11. Buffalo Springfield ‘Expecting To Fly’ [ATCO]
12. Julianna Barwick ‘The Magic Place’ [Asthmatic Kitty]
13. Jon Brion ‘Phone Call’ [Hollywood]
14. Toro Y Moi ‘Divina’ [Carpark]
15. John Maus ‘Hey Moon’ [Upset! The Rhythm]
16. Julia Holter ‘In The Same Room’ [RVNG INTL]
17. Eden Ahbez ‘The Wanderer’ [Righteous/Cherry Red]
18. Esquivel ‘Nature Boy’ [Righteous/Cherry Red]
19. The Flaming Lips ‘Do You Realize??’ [Warner Bros.]
20. Françoise Hardy ‘Je Ne Sais Pas Ce Que Je Veux’ [Ace]
21. Tom Glazer & Dottie Evans ‘Why Go Up There?’ [Motivation]
22. Colleen ‘Ursa Major Find’ [Second Language]
23. The Beach Boys ‘Good Vibrations’ Closing-Bit (Stereo)’ [Capitol]
24. The Beatles ‘Across The Universe’ [Apple]
25. Sounds Galactic ‘Across The Universe’ [Decca]
26. Odetta ‘Pastures Of Plenty’ [Vanguard]


The copyright in these recordings is the property of the individual artists and/or their respective record labels. If you like the music, please support the artist by buying their records.


Fractured Air. The universe is making music all the time.

Mixcloud / Soundcloud