The universe is making music all the time

Posts Tagged ‘Feist

Fractured Air x Blogothèque – S02E03 | March mix

leave a comment »


For March’s mixtape we are excited to share two exclusive tracks, by Reykjavík-based composer Valgeir Sigurðsson (Iceland/Bedroom Community) and Berlin-based percussionist and drummer Andrea Belfi (Italy/Float).

Valgeir Sigurðsson releases his hugely anticipated new solo work “Dissonance” (the follow-up to 2013’s mesmerising “Architecture Of Loss” LP) on April 21st via Icelandic independent label Bedroom Community (founded by Sigurðsson in 2006). Recorded and produced between September 2015 and November 2016 at his Reykjavík-based Greenhouse Studios, “Dissonance” confirms Sigurðsson as one of contemporary music’s most gifted and innovative composers in the modern classical realm. “Dissonance” features collaborators Liam Byrne and Reykjavík Sinfonia and features the monumental side-long title-track alongside two separate suites: “No Nights Dark Enough” (in five parts) and the three-part “1875”.

The Italian-born and Berlin-based artist Andrea Belfi releases his sublime full-length “Ore” – excitingly the first for Float – which comprises his finely-honed craft as a gifted drummer and percussionist, using his own trusted sound set-up (a Saari drum-kit from Finland and a Nord modular and sampler). In recent times, Belfi’s name has reached a wider audience while collaborating and touring with the Nils Frahm-led, Berlin-based three-piece Nonkeen (R&S Records). “Ore” will be released on 26 May 2017 via Float.

Numero Group – the ever-indispensable archival and reissue specialists – this month issued the definitive double-album retrospective on The Creation, the short-lived but hugely influential 1960’s mod-rock group. Entitled “Action Painting”, the double-album set features the complete Creation studio recordings as well as tracks from The Creation’s predecessors, The Mark Four (featuring future Kinks bassist John Dalton).

March’s mix also features new releases from: Colin Stetson; Feist; Nathan Fake; Forest Swords; The Shins; Spoon; Demen and Kelly Lee Owens.

Fractured Air x Blogothèque – S02E03 | March mix


To listen on La Blogothèque:


01. Nick Cave & Warren Ellis“Mars Theme” (Mars OST, Milan)
02. Andrea Belfi“Lead” (Float)
03. Blanck Mass“Rhesus Negative” (Sacred Bones)
04. Moiré“Auteur (Outro)” (Ghostly International)
05. Lusine“Witness” (feat. Benoît Pioulard) (Ghostly International)
06. Earthen Sea“About That Time” (Kranky)
07. Demen “Niorum” (Kranky)
08. Ben Frost“Impossibilities” (Fortitude OST, SATV Publishing Limited/Sky, Mute)
09. Valgeir Sigurðsson“No Nights Dark Enough II. infamy sings” (Bedroom Community)
10. Feist“Pleasure” (Polydor)
11. The Creation“Through My Eyes” (Numero Group)
12. Spoon“Us” (Matador)
13. The Shins“The Fear” (Columbia)
14. Ennio Morricone“Un Uomo Da Rispettare” (Un Uomo Da Rispettare OST, Superior Viaduct)
15. High Plains“Blood That Ran the Rapids” (Kranky)
16. Kelly Lee Owens “Lucid” (Smalltown Supersound)
17. Forest Swords“The Highest Flood” (Ninja Tune)
18. Nathan Fake“HoursDaysMonthsSeasons” (Ninja Tune)
19. Colin Stetson“In the clinches” (Constellation)
20. Actress“X22RME” (Ninja Tune)
21. FKA Twigs “Hide” (Young Turks)
22. Todd Terje“Jungelknugen” (Four Tet Remix) (Olsen Norway)
23. Peaking Lights“Little Flower” (Two Flowers)
24. Risco Connection“Ain’t No Stopping Us Now” (Soul Jazz)
25. Madlib“Cue 4” (Stones Throw)
26. Little Simz“No More Wonderland” (AGE 101)
27. Rusangano Family“Eyedentity” (Self-Released)

Compiled by Fractured Air, March 2017. The copyright in these recordings is the property of the individual artists and/or record labels. If you like the music, please support the artist by buying their records.

Step Right Up: Chilly Gonzales

leave a comment »

Words: Mark Carry, Illustration: Craig Carry

I was first introduced to the music of Gonzales by chance, on a Saturday morning, in my local record store Plugd in Cork City. The beautiful solo piano of Gonzales filled the room and the busy streets outside. I asked Jimmy, ‘Who’s that?’ and he replied, ‘Gonzales’ and showed me the CD. Beautiful artwork graced the front sleeve and once in my hand, I never let it go. The album ‘Solo Piano’ was released in 2004 and is filled with breathtakingly beautiful piano reminiscent of Satie and Gershwin. Gonzales, like a magician, casts a spell on the listener and each of the sixteen varied instrumental cuts is nothing short of magic. The album became an indispensable part of my music collection, which I have returned to many times since. On the album’s liner notes, Gonzales writes: ‘Although they say the piano can create the most colours of any instrument, it is actually black and white, much like an old silent movie. Staring down at my hands, I imagine each piano piece as a shadow against the wall.’

On August 28th 2012, Gonzales, now under the name Chilly Gonzales, will release his highly anticipated follow-up, ‘Solo Piano II’. In the eight years between these two albums, Gonzales has been extremely busy. He has been the producer for an eclectic mix of artists from Feist, Peaches, Jane Birkin to Jamie Lidell and Buck 65. He has been a regular collaborator with (Leslie) Feist and integral to the making of her most recent and strongest album to date, ‘Metals’. Interestingly, in 2009 Gonzales broke the Guinness World Record for the world’s longest solo artist performance, playing the piano in Paris for 27 hours, 3 minutes and 44 seconds.

In December 2011, Gonzales moved his piano into Paris Studio Pigalle. The recording process took ten days whereby the one hundred or so melodies written over the eight years since ‘Solo Piano’ became the fourteen instrumental cuts forming ‘Solo Piano II’. Gonzales played the songs “over and over and over again, until each one’s essence has been captured”. The purest and most microscopic process of recording took place and can be heard on each of the fourteen transcendent solo piano works.

‘Solo Piano II’ by Chilly Gonzales will be out on Arts and Crafts on August 27th.

Written by admin

July 30, 2012 at 7:15 pm