The universe is making music all the time

Posts Tagged ‘Eden Ahbez

Fractured Air x Blogothèque – S02E01 | January mix

leave a comment »


Welcome to the first mixtape for 2017.

January’s edition opens with the welcome return of Oklahoma’s finest The Flaming Lips with their latest studio album “Oczy Mlody”, released this month on Bella Union. Fellow indie greats Dirty Projectors also return, with Dave Longstreth’s soul-stirring lament “Little Bubble” – the follow-up to last September’s “Keep Your Name” – which makes the Dirty Projectors’ forthcoming full-length one of the most eagerly anticipated albums for 2017.

“Elwan” (translates to “The Elephants”), the new album by Malis’s beloved Tinariwen is sure to be found on many end-of-year lists come this December. The music again draws from Tinariwen’s homeland, a Saharan mountain range between north-eastern Mali and southern Algeria, which has been transformed into a conflict zone. “Elwan” was recorded at Rancho de la Luna studios in the desert of California’s Joshua Tree National Park during 2014, and again in 2016, in M’Hamid El Ghizlane, an oasis in southern Morocco, near the Algerian frontier.

Other intriguing new releases come from the Montreal-based group Avec le Soleil Sortant De Sa Bouche who release their exceptional second album “Pas Pire Pop, I Love You So Much” via Constellation, the follow-up to the band’s 2014 debut “Zubberdust!”. Having formed in 2011 in Montreal, Avec le Soleil Sortant De Sa Bouche features singer/songwriter Jean-Sebastien Truchy (of Fly Pan Am) as well as members of numerous other groups including: Panopticon Eyelids, Pas Chic Chic, Red Mass, Set Fire to Flames.

Of course, new releases only always paints one tiny portion of the wider picture, with so many exceptional re-issues always being repressed and made anew. This month sees Light In The Attic begin an exhaustive re-issue campaign for the music of Brazilian icon Erasmo Carlos, the first three albums showing an unparalleled appetite for fusing countless styles of music into his own unique, singular sound, heralding Carlos’ place as one of the most gifted songwriters from the seventies.

“Tumblers from the Vault (1970–1972)” by Syrinx (re-issues last year on RVNG Intl) was our favourite re-issue from 2016. Syrinx consisted of composer and keyboardist John Mills-Cockell, saxophonist Doug Pringle, and percussionist Alan Wells. Syrinx’s self-titled debut arrived in 1970, followed in 1971 by ‘Long Lost Relatives’, which is highlighted as the first album on Tumblers From The Vault.

Fractured Air x Blogothèque – S02E01 | January mix



01. The Flaming Lips“There Should Be Unicorns” (Bella Union)
02. Syrinx“Syren” (RVNG Intl)
03. Erasmo Carlos“26 Anos de Vida Normal” (Light In The Attic)
04. Mr. Tophat & Robyn“Disco Devato” (excerpt) (Smalltown Supersound)
05. Tinariwen“Sastanàqqàm” (Anti-)
06. Avec le Soleil Sortant De Sa Bouche“Alizé et Margaret D. Midi moins le quart. Sur la plage, un palmier ensanglanté II” (Constellation)
07. Awa Poulo – “Dimo Yaou Tata” (Awesome Tapes From Africa)
08. Roberto Musci“Water Music” (Music From Memory)
09. MJ Guider“White Alsatian” (Kranky)
10. Gareth Dickson“Atmosphere” (Discolexique)
11. Steve Hauschildt“Same River Twice” (Kranky)
12. Run The Jewels“Thursday in the Danger Room” (feat. Kamasi Washington) (Self-Released)
13. Plankton vs. Defcon“Jealousy” (Karaoke Kalk)
14. Lee Hazlewood“For One Moment” (Light In The Attic)
15. Duane Eddy“This Town” (Ace)
16. Molly Burch“Try” (Captured Tracks)
17. Patience“Wait For You” (Night School)
18. Bézier“Widows Tears” (Cin Cin)
19. Copeland & Gast“Sisters of Control” (All Bone)
20. Tangents“Jindabyne” (Four Tet Remix) (Temporary Residence)
21. Ólafur Arnalds“Árbakkinn” (ft. Einar Georg) (Mercury Classics)
22. Dirty Projectors“Little Bubble” (Edit) (Domino)
23. Odd Nosdam“Daliman OG” (Glue Moon)
24. April Stevens“End Of Desire” (Cherry Red)
25. Mica Levi“Children” (Jackie OST, Milan)
26. Daniel Lanois & Rocco DeLuca“Low Sudden” (Anti-)
27. Allred & Broderick“The Ways” (Erased Tapes)

Compiled by Fractured Air, January 2017. The copyright in these recordings is the property of the individual artists and/or record labels. If you like the music, please support the artist by buying their records.


Mixtape: Across The Universe [A Fractured Air Mix]

leave a comment »


Across The Universe [A Fractured Air Mix]

‘Across The Universe’ is a mixtape inspired by the music (and life) of Susan Schneider (AKA The Space Lady) whose incredible story has inspired anyone who has been fortunate enough to have crossed paths with Susan’s incredible gift for both making music and living life. The following mixtape was compiled to mark The Space Lady’s concert in Cork, Ireland on 12 April 2014.

To listen on Mixcloud:



01. Tom Glazer & Dottie Evans ‘Zoom A Little Zoom (Rocket Ship)’ [Motivation]
02. Dick Hyman & His Orchestra ‘The Liquidator’ [Command]
03. The Beatles ‘Flying’ [Parlophone]
04. Joe Meek ‘I Hear A New World’ [RPM]
05. The Elegants ‘Little Star’ [His Master’s Voice]
06. Etta James ‘At Last’ [Chess]
07. The Ventures ‘El Cumbanchero’ [Liberty]
08. The Velvet Underground & Nico ‘There She Goes Again’ [Polydor]
09. Rachel and the Revolvers ‘Number One’ [Ace]
10. Prelude ‘After the Goldrush’ [After Hours]
11. Buffalo Springfield ‘Expecting To Fly’ [ATCO]
12. Julianna Barwick ‘The Magic Place’ [Asthmatic Kitty]
13. Jon Brion ‘Phone Call’ [Hollywood]
14. Toro Y Moi ‘Divina’ [Carpark]
15. John Maus ‘Hey Moon’ [Upset! The Rhythm]
16. Julia Holter ‘In The Same Room’ [RVNG INTL]
17. Eden Ahbez ‘The Wanderer’ [Righteous/Cherry Red]
18. Esquivel ‘Nature Boy’ [Righteous/Cherry Red]
19. The Flaming Lips ‘Do You Realize??’ [Warner Bros.]
20. Françoise Hardy ‘Je Ne Sais Pas Ce Que Je Veux’ [Ace]
21. Tom Glazer & Dottie Evans ‘Why Go Up There?’ [Motivation]
22. Colleen ‘Ursa Major Find’ [Second Language]
23. The Beach Boys ‘Good Vibrations’ Closing-Bit (Stereo)’ [Capitol]
24. The Beatles ‘Across The Universe’ [Apple]
25. Sounds Galactic ‘Across The Universe’ [Decca]
26. Odetta ‘Pastures Of Plenty’ [Vanguard]


The copyright in these recordings is the property of the individual artists and/or their respective record labels. If you like the music, please support the artist by buying their records.


Fractured Air. The universe is making music all the time.

Mixcloud / Soundcloud