The universe is making music all the time

Posts Tagged ‘Daniel Lopatin

Mixtape: Down To The Sound [A Fractured Air Mix]

leave a comment »


Down To The Sound [A Fractured Air Mix]

To listen on Soundcloud:



01. Brian Reitzell & Daniel Lopatin ‘Bling Ring Suite’ [Def Jam]
02. Daedelus ‘Tiptoes’ (Perksun Remix) [Anticon]
03. Molly Nilsson ‘Lend Me Your Love’ [Neen]
04. Four Tet ‘Unicorn’ [Text]
05. Weekend ‘Red Planes (’81 Demo)’ [Blackest Ever Black]
06. Ryley Walker ‘The West Wind’ [Tompkins Square]
07. Tycho ‘Plains’ [Ghostly International]
08. Bibio ‘Down To The Sound’ [Warp]
09. Christina Vantzou ‘Brain Fog’ [Kranky]
10. Walter Schuman ‘Pretty Fly / Lullaby (Night Of The Hunter)’ [Finders Keepers]
11. Kreng ‘…And Then In The Morning’ [Sonic Pieces]
12. Shin Joong Hyun ‘Beautiful Rivers And Mountains’ [Light In The Attic]
13. Homeboy Sandman ‘White Sands’ [Stones Throw]
14. Kevin Morby ‘Slow Train’ (Feat. Cate Le Bon) [Woodsit]
15. The Staple Singers ‘I’m Coming Home’ [Vee Jay]


The copyright in these recordings is the property of the individual artists and/or their respective record labels. If you like the music, please support the artist by buying their records.


Fractured Air. The universe is making music all the time.

Mixcloud / Soundcloud




Ten Mile Stereo

leave a comment »

SlowPlaceLikeHome ‘Cathleen’s Fall’
Taken from the forthcoming ‘Ramola’ record which is due for release in March 2013 which will undoubtedly appear on every end of year list come year’s end. Mr. Mannion can do no wrong.

Matthew E. White ‘Big Inner’ (Domino)
‘Big Inner’ has been earning incredible praise from all media sources, and it’s clear why. The seven gorgeous tracks are soulful, moving and genuinely original. Closer ‘Brazos’ is one of the most sublime tracks of the year so far.

Alasdair Roberts ‘A Wonder Working Stone’ (Drag City)
The eagerly awaited new record from this very talented Glasgow-based artist. ‘A Wonder Working Stone’ has been described by Drag City as “A thousand years of musical topography are seen from eleven unique song-crafts and all lead back to one undeniable conclusion: “all days will end in joy / they’ll never end in evil.”

Yo La Tengo ‘Fade’ (Matador)
Album Number 13 from the beloved trio of Kaplan, Hubley and McNew. ‘Fade’ is yet another great record from a band who have stunned listeners since their debut in ’86. A class, class act.

Ducktails ‘The Flower lane’ (Domino)
Matthew Mondanile’s side project (to Real Estate) is already in its third LP and is now firmly a fully realized band its own right. Expect yet more stunning guitar-pop melodies.

Pantha Du Prince & The Bell Laboratory ‘Elements Of Light’ (Rough Trade)
This fine collection of bell-orientated tracks from Pantha Du Prince’s Hendrik Weber –  provides for a fascinating listening experience. Available now on Rough Trade.

Nils Frahm ‘Screws Reworked’ (Helios Rework)
When Nils Frahm invited artists to ‘rework’ his ‘Screws’ album (released on vinyl last December on Erased Tapes), many wonderful reworks were submitted. The highlight (thus far) has been Keith Kenniff (AKA Helios)’s re-interpretation of Frahm’s ‘Re’. See the ‘Screws Reworked’ project here.

Benoît Pioulard ‘Hymnal’ (Kranky)
Benoît Pioulard is the pseudonym for New York-based artist Thomas Meluch, whose records have been consistent in their greatness, especially his 2006 LP ‘Précis’. New LP ‘Hymnal’ is Pioulard’s fourth LP on the Kranky label.

Black Marble ‘A Different Arrangement’ (Hardly Art)
One of the finest records of last year, Black Marble are a Brooklyn-based New-Wave influenced duo. As fine as debut LP’s come.

Tim Hecker & Daniel Lopatin ‘Instrumental Tourist’ (Software)
Collaboration between Hecker and Lopatin (Oneohtrix Point Never) released on Mexican Summer’s imprint Software. This is the first of a series called ‘SSTUDIOS’ where artists will be invited to create collaborative works together.