The universe is making music all the time

Posts Tagged ‘Brokeback

Fractured Air x Blogothèque – S02E02 | February mix

leave a comment »


We’re excited to present three exclusive tracks for February’s mixtape.

February’s edition features an exclusive first listen of UK-based organist and composer James McVinnie’s “Cycles_1” album, set for release this Spring via Icelandic independent Bedroom Community. The album is a collection of reworks of McVinnie’s glorious 2013 Bedroom Community album, “Cycles”, an album featuring thirteen organ pieces performed by Mcvinnie, written by Nico Muhly and also featuring contributions from Nadia Sirota, Chris Thompson and Simon Wall. Presented here is the rework of “O Emmanuel” (the final of the “Seven O Antiphon Preludes” from “Cycles”) by composer Paul Evans, who is also the producer and engineer at the legendary Greenhouse Studios; the creative home of Bedroom Community, founded by Valgeir Sigurðsson in 1997.

Also featured on February’s mixtape is an exclusive first listen of Irish songwriter Brigid Mae Power’s hauntingly beautiful cover of Planxty’s “As I Roved Out” (a regular inclusion on Power’s enthralling live shows), taken from her forthcoming “The Ones You Keep Close” EP, comprising a collection of older songs of Power’s newly recorded by Peter Broderick at his Woods, Oregon-based studio The Sparkle during 2016. The stunning six-track vinyl EP will be available this April via German independent label Oscarson.

We’re happy to also feature the exclusive track “Rook” by Seattle-based artist Benoît Pioulard (Kranky, Ghostly International, Morr Music) which will be exclusively made available on a tour-only CD during his forthcoming eagerly-awaited European tour, commencing on 4th March 2017.

Also included on February’s mixtape are new releases from: Brokeback; Colin Stetson; Hauschka; Jens Lekman; Visible Cloaks; Cindy Lee; Clap! Clap!; Talaboman; Mind Over Mirrors; Julie Byrne & much more.

Fractured Air x Blogothèque – S02E02 | February mix



01. Visible Cloaks“Circle” (RVNG Intl)
02. Julia Holter“So Lillies” (Live at RAK) (Domino)
03. Yaw“Where Will You Be” (!K7)
04. Françoise Hardy“Voilà” (Disques Vogue)
05. Cindy Lee“A Message From The Aching Sky” (Superior Viaduct)
06. The Sadies“It’s Easy (Like Walking)” [feat. Kurt Vile] (Yep Roc)
07. The Saxophones“If You’re on the Water” (Self-Released)
08. Brokeback“Spanish Venus” (Thrill Jockey)
09. Jens Lekman“What’s That Perfume That You Wear?” (Secretly Canadian)
10. William Onyeabor“Fantastic Man” (Luaka Bop)
11. Brentford Disco Set“Rebel Disco” (Soul Jazz)
12. Adrian Homer Miller “One and Only One” (Light In The Attic)
13. Colleen“Eclipse” (Thrill Jockey)
14. Those Who Walk Away“First Degraded Hymn” (Constellation)
15. Toydrum“I’ve Got a Future” (Nick Cave & Warren Ellis Rework) [feat. Gavin Clark] (Skint)
16. Julie Byrne“I Live Now As A Singer” (Ba Da Bing!)
17. Clap! Clap!“Ascension Psalm” (feat. HDADD) (Black Acre)
18. Talaboman“Safe Changes” (R&S)
19. Caribou“People Eating Fruit” (Leaf)
20. Vermont“Norderney” (Kompakt)
21. Paddy Mulcahy“On The Steps” (Self-Released)
22. Hauschka “Constant Growth Fails” (City Slang / Temporary Residence)
23. Mind Over Mirrors“To the Edges” (Paradise Of Bachelors)
24. James McVinnie “O Emmanuel” (Paul Evans Remix) (Bedroom Community)
25. Benoît Pioulard“Rook” (Self-Released)
26. Colin Stetson“Spindrift” (Constellation)
27. Mario Batkovic“Restrictus 2” (Invada)
28. Richard Osborn“Still I Will Be Merry” (Tompkins Square)
29. Brigid Mae Power“As I Roved Out” (Oscarson)

Compiled by Fractured Air, February 2017. The copyright in these recordings is the property of the individual artists and/or record labels. If you like the music, please support the artist by buying their records.


Fractured Air 27: When It’s Over (A Mixtape by Doug McCombs)

with one comment

Based in Chicago, Illinois, Doug McCombs is best known as the founding member of the legendary post-rock collective Tortoise, who have released eight studio albums to date. Since their beginnings in the early nineties, Tortoise have fuzed a myriad of styles such as Krautrock, jazz, dub and electronica into their own highly distinctive sound palette, making such classic albums as ‘TNT’ (1998), ‘Standards’ (2000) and ‘Beacons Of Ancestorship’ (2009) in the process. Multi-instrumentalist McCombs is also the bassist and guitarist for his longstanding Brokeback project, who have released five studio albums to date, culminating in 2013’s ‘Brokeback and the Black Rock’ LP. Over the years McCombs has featured in many other bands (Eleventh Dream Day, Pullman) while he has collaborated with a vast array of some of US independent music’s best loved bands (Will Oldham, Calexico, Yo La Tengo) and international artists (Tom Zé, Azita Youseffi).


Fractured Air 27: When It’s Over (A Mixtape by Doug McCombs)

To listen on Mixcloud:



01. Television ‘Little Johnny Jewel’ [Ork]
02. The Cars ‘Good Times Roll’ [Elektra]
03. Obits ‘Two Headed Coin’ [Sub Pop]
04. X ‘The Unheard Music’ [Slash]
05. The Shadows ‘Apache’ [Columbia]
06. Jack Nitzsche ‘The Lonely Surfer’ [Reprise]
07. Earth ‘Miami Morning Coming Down II’ [Southern Lord]
08. Ennio Morricone ‘Il vizio d’uccidere’ [RCA]
09. Wipers ‘When It’s Over’ [Park Avenue]
10. Neil Young ‘Southern Pacific’ [Reprise]
11. Ry Cooder ‘One Meat Ball’ [Reprise]
12. Captain Beefheart ‘A Carrot Is As Close As A Rabbit Gets to A Diamond’ [Virgin]
13. Devo ‘The Day My Baby Gave Me A Surprise’ [Virgin / Warner Bros.]
14. Talking Heads ‘Animals’ [Sire]
15. The Meters ‘Look-Ka Py Py’ [Josie]
16. Minutemen ‘It’s Expected, I’m Gone’ [SST]
17. The Pop Group ‘She Is Beyond Good And Evil’ [Radar]
18. This Heat ‘Health And Efficiency’ [Piano]
19. The Raincoats ‘Only Loved At Night’ [Rough Trade]
20. The Birthday Party ‘Deep In The Woods’ [Powderworks / 4AD]
21. Crime and the City Solution ‘Six Bells Chime’ [Mute]
22. The Jimi Hendrix Experience ‘If 6 Was 9’ [MCA]
23. ZZ Top ‘I’m Bad, I’m Nationwide’ [Warner Bros.]
24. Bo Diddley ‘Who Do You Love’ [Chess]
25. The Feelies ‘Slipping (Into Something)’ [Coyote, Twin/Tone]
26. Richard and Linda Thompson ‘The Calvary Cross’ [Island]
27. Roy Orbison ‘Leah’ [Arcade]
28. João Gilberto ‘Undiú’ [Polydor]
29. Ry Cooder & Manuel Galbán ‘Drume Negrita’ [Nonesuch]
30. Calexico ‘Dia De Los Muertos: Nuestro Hermano, El Hechicero Cheech Hace El Hoochie Coochie Con Los Monstruos Gilas Y Los Sapos De Cuernos’ (Bundy K Brown Remix) [Quarterstick / City Slang]


The copyright in these recordings is the property of the individual artists and/or their respective record labels. If you like the music, please support the artist by buying their records.



Written by admin

October 6, 2014 at 11:27 am