The universe is making music all the time

Fractured Air 35: New Hiking Boots Mix (A Mixtape by Sunken Foal)

leave a comment »

Sunken Foal — the alias for Ireland-based electronic producer and composer Dunk Murphy — released the third installment of his acclaimed ‘Friday Syndrome’ series this year via Murphy’s own label, Countersunk. ‘Friday Syndrome Vol​.​3’ is once again another typically diverse and disparate collection of enduring and innovative sounds and styles (the album’s genesis stems from Murphy emailing sonic sketches to friends on Friday evenings over the last three years), restlessly spanning electronic, folk, lo-fi, dance, pop and funk. Volume 3’s 18-track song-cycle odyssey — written, performed, arranged and produced by Sunken Foal — also features guest vocals from Irish artists Si Schroeder and Rupert Morris (Bats).


Fractured Air 35: New Hiking Boots Mix (A Mixtape by Sunken Foal)

To listen on Mixcloud:



01. Debashish Bhattacharya ‘Prema Chakor’ [Riverboat]
02. Judee Sill ‘Lopin’ Along Thru The Cosmos’ [Asylum]
03. Aphex Twin ‘piano un10 it happened’ [Warp]
04. Andy Irvine ‘The Blind Harper’ [Mulligan/Compass]
05. Animal Collective ‘Doggy’ [Catsup Plate, Paw Tracks]
06. Somadrone ‘Eye On Nature’ [Scintilla Recordings]
07. Sunken Foal ‘Settler’s Debt’ [Countersunk]
08. Fennesz ‘Grey Scale’ [Touch]
09. Sibylle Baier ‘Forgett’ [Orange Twin]
10. Erik Satie ‘Avec Conviction Et Avec Une Tristesse Rigoureuse’ [EMI Classics]
11. Ennio Morricone ‘Quelle Foto’ [Dagored]
12. Thom Yorke ‘Truth Ray’ [Self-Released]
13. Lasry Baschet ‘Manège’ [BAM]
14. Glenn Jones ‘My Garden State’ [Thrill Jockey]
15. Vashti Bunyan ‘Where I Like to Stand’ [Philips]
16. Teebs ‘The Endless’ [Brainfeeder]
17. Nilsson ‘Life Line’ [MCA]
18. The Gasman ‘Non’ [Planet Mu]
19. Pajo ‘Ten More Days’ [Drag City, Domino]
20. Tim Hecker ‘Stigmata II’ [Kranky]
21. Ryan Francesconi ‘With Hands’ [Sweet Dreams]
22. Graham Coxon ‘Where’d You Go?’ [Transcopic]
23. Emakousma ‘Mid Season’ [Fallow]
24. Leafcutter John ‘Dream I’ [Staubgold]
25. Grouper ‘Being Her Shadow’ [Kranky]
26. Nico ‘All That Is My Own’ [Reprise]
27. Leonard Cohen ‘Love Calls You By Your Name’ [Columbia]

The copyright in these recordings is the property of the individual artists and/or their respective record labels. If you like the music, please support the artist by buying their records.




‘Friday Syndrome Vol​.​3’ is available now on Countersunk.


Written by admin

March 11, 2015 at 3:15 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: