The universe is making music all the time

Fractured Air 27: When It’s Over (A Mixtape by Doug McCombs)

with one comment

Based in Chicago, Illinois, Doug McCombs is best known as the founding member of the legendary post-rock collective Tortoise, who have released eight studio albums to date. Since their beginnings in the early nineties, Tortoise have fuzed a myriad of styles such as Krautrock, jazz, dub and electronica into their own highly distinctive sound palette, making such classic albums as ‘TNT’ (1998), ‘Standards’ (2000) and ‘Beacons Of Ancestorship’ (2009) in the process. Multi-instrumentalist McCombs is also the bassist and guitarist for his longstanding Brokeback project, who have released five studio albums to date, culminating in 2013’s ‘Brokeback and the Black Rock’ LP. Over the years McCombs has featured in many other bands (Eleventh Dream Day, Pullman) while he has collaborated with a vast array of some of US independent music’s best loved bands (Will Oldham, Calexico, Yo La Tengo) and international artists (Tom Zé, Azita Youseffi).


Fractured Air 27: When It’s Over (A Mixtape by Doug McCombs)

To listen on Mixcloud:



01. Television ‘Little Johnny Jewel’ [Ork]
02. The Cars ‘Good Times Roll’ [Elektra]
03. Obits ‘Two Headed Coin’ [Sub Pop]
04. X ‘The Unheard Music’ [Slash]
05. The Shadows ‘Apache’ [Columbia]
06. Jack Nitzsche ‘The Lonely Surfer’ [Reprise]
07. Earth ‘Miami Morning Coming Down II’ [Southern Lord]
08. Ennio Morricone ‘Il vizio d’uccidere’ [RCA]
09. Wipers ‘When It’s Over’ [Park Avenue]
10. Neil Young ‘Southern Pacific’ [Reprise]
11. Ry Cooder ‘One Meat Ball’ [Reprise]
12. Captain Beefheart ‘A Carrot Is As Close As A Rabbit Gets to A Diamond’ [Virgin]
13. Devo ‘The Day My Baby Gave Me A Surprise’ [Virgin / Warner Bros.]
14. Talking Heads ‘Animals’ [Sire]
15. The Meters ‘Look-Ka Py Py’ [Josie]
16. Minutemen ‘It’s Expected, I’m Gone’ [SST]
17. The Pop Group ‘She Is Beyond Good And Evil’ [Radar]
18. This Heat ‘Health And Efficiency’ [Piano]
19. The Raincoats ‘Only Loved At Night’ [Rough Trade]
20. The Birthday Party ‘Deep In The Woods’ [Powderworks / 4AD]
21. Crime and the City Solution ‘Six Bells Chime’ [Mute]
22. The Jimi Hendrix Experience ‘If 6 Was 9’ [MCA]
23. ZZ Top ‘I’m Bad, I’m Nationwide’ [Warner Bros.]
24. Bo Diddley ‘Who Do You Love’ [Chess]
25. The Feelies ‘Slipping (Into Something)’ [Coyote, Twin/Tone]
26. Richard and Linda Thompson ‘The Calvary Cross’ [Island]
27. Roy Orbison ‘Leah’ [Arcade]
28. João Gilberto ‘Undiú’ [Polydor]
29. Ry Cooder & Manuel Galbán ‘Drume Negrita’ [Nonesuch]
30. Calexico ‘Dia De Los Muertos: Nuestro Hermano, El Hechicero Cheech Hace El Hoochie Coochie Con Los Monstruos Gilas Y Los Sapos De Cuernos’ (Bundy K Brown Remix) [Quarterstick / City Slang]


The copyright in these recordings is the property of the individual artists and/or their respective record labels. If you like the music, please support the artist by buying their records.



Written by admin

October 6, 2014 at 11:27 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] and guitarist for his longstanding Brokeback project and as a solo artist active. For online mag Fractured Air he did a very sweet mixtape with a great […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: