The universe is making music all the time

Fractured Air 26: Silence & Violence (A Mixtape by Roll The Dice)

leave a comment »

Roll The Dice comprise the Stockholm duo of Malcolm Pardon and Peder Mannerfelt, who released their hugely anticipated third LP this year, ‘Until Silence’, via the renowned UK-based independent The Leaf Label. ‘Until Silence’ sees a brave and intriguing shift in the duo’s sound (most noticeably with the addition of a 26-piece string section ensemble during the recording sessions with an even greater focus this time around on an intensity of emotion across an ever-expanding sound palette) while the conceptual framework of the album draws inspiration from World War One (the album’s title is inspired by a book on the period). To date, Roll The Dice have released a trilogy of monumental albums, beginning with their self-titled debut LP (Digitalis, 2010); ‘In Dust’ (Leaf, 2011); ‘Until Silence’ (Leaf, 2014), confirming the Swedish electronic group as one of independent music’s most intriguing and compelling contemporary artists.


Fractured Air 26: Silence & Violence (A Mixtape by Roll The Dice)

To listen on Mixcloud:



01. Marcel Duchamp ‘Musical Erratum: La Mariée Mise A Nu Par Ses Célibataires, Même, Pt. 2’ [LTM Recordings]
02. Nick Cave & Warren Ellis ‘The Cannibals’ [Mute]
03. Spiritualized ‘Stay With Me’ [Arista, Dedicated]
04. Boris ‘Akuma No Uta’ [Diwphalanx / Southern Lord]
05. Perc & Einstürzende Neubauten ‘Sado-Masodub’ [Submit]
06. Hank Williams ‘Angel of Death’ [MGM]
07. Okkyung Lee ‘Hollow Water’ [Ideologic Organ]
08. Swans ‘Mother of the World’ [Young God, Mute]
09. Harold Budd ‘Black Bart’ [Darla]
10. Sleeparchive ‘Hospital 8’ [Spannered]
11. Autechre ‘Altibzz’ [Warp]
12. Gavin Bryars ‘The Sinking of the Titanic’ [Obscure]
13. Portal ‘Writhen’ [Profound Lore]
14. Scott Walker ‘Two Ragged Soldiers’ [Philips]


To read our recently published interview with Roll The Dice please see here:




‘Until Silence’ is available now on all formats via The Leaf Label.



Written by admin

September 29, 2014 at 11:57 am

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: