The universe is making music all the time

Fractured Air 25: Tinted Glass (A Mixtape by Jeff Zeigler)

leave a comment »

Philadelphia-based artist Jeff Zeigler releases ‘Slant of Light’, the much-anticipated debut full-length LP with harpist Mary Lattimore, this month via Chicago-based Thrill Jockey Records. Zeigler is a multi-instrumentalist and hugely renowned recording artist (Kurt Vile, The War on Drugs, Purling Hiss) whose reputation has been firmly established long ago in the thriving Philadelphia independent music scene. ‘Slant of Light’ comprises both beautifully organic and texturally dense improvisations recorded with Lattimore on harp and Zeigler on synthesizers and guitar. The combination of both artistic vision and genuine ambition, together with remarkable imagination and technical execution, is testament not only to each individual’s mastery of their own respective instrument but also to their near-symbiotic connection as a recording duo. To date, Lattimore has collaborated extensively with a vast array of artists including Sharon Van Etten, Thurston Moore, Steve Gunn and Wrekmeister Harmonies; while Zeigler has performed with members of Chris Forsyth’s Solar Motel Band, The War on Drugs, and A Sunny Day in Glasgow in his group Arc in Round. ‘Slant of Light’ by Mary Lattimore and Jeff Zeigler is available now worldwide via Thrill Jockey.


Fractured Air 25: Tinted Glass (A Mixtape by Jeff Zeigler)

To listen on Mixcloud:



01. Cabaret Voltaire ‘Nag Nag Nag’ [NovaMute / Rough Trade]
02. Camberwell Now ‘Working Nights’ [Ink]
03. Family Fodder ‘Savoir Faire’ [Fresh]
04. Cold Beat ‘Tinted Glass’ [Crime On The Moon]
05. Clan of Xymox ‘No Words’ [4AD]
06. Nico ‘Sixty Forty’ [Aura / Metronome]
07. John Bender ‘31A4’ [Record Sluts]
08. Howard Shore ‘Assassins in the Barn’ [Not On Label]
09. Kraftwerk ‘Ruckzuck’ [Philips]
10. Electrelane ‘I’m on Fire’ [Too Pure]
11. The Smiths ‘You’ve Got Everything Now’ [Rough Trade]
12. Samsimar ‘Indang Pariaman’ [Sublime Frequencies]
13. Third Eye Foundation ‘Sound of Violence’ [Domino / Merge]
14. Crescent ‘Every Atom of our Blood’ [Roomtone / Swarffinger]
15. Butthole Surfers ‘Graveyard’ [Touch And Go / Blast First]
16. Movietone ‘In Mexico’ [Domino / Drag City]
17. Julee Cruise ‘I Remember’ [Warner Bros.]
18. Harold Budd and the Cocteau Twins ‘She Will Destroy You’ [4AD]
19. Disco Inferno ‘Footprints in the Snow’ [Rough Trade / Bar/None]




‘Slant of Light’  is available now on all formats via Thrill Jockey.



Written by admin

September 23, 2014 at 10:39 am

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: