The universe is making music all the time

Fractured Air 22: My Time (A Mixtape by Dustin Wong & Takako Minekawa)

leave a comment »

‘My Time’ is a mixtape compiled by the world renowned Japanese composers Dustin Wong and Takako Minekawa (Wong was born in the US while spent his childhood in Japan). The vibrant and diverse selection (spanning scores for motion pictures to  video game scores and featuring musicians from their native Japan as well as Western influences such as German New Wave, Punk and Synth Pop) mirrors the pair’s eclectic influences and a constant willingness to expand and broaden their sound palettes while infusing their own music with a delightful sense of inventiveness and imagination. The duo released their debut collaborative full length, ‘Toropical Circle’, in 2013 via Thrill Jockey; while this September sees its much anticipated follow-up, ‘Savage Imagination’, to be released by Chicago-based independent label Thrill Jockey this Autumn.


Fractured Air 22: My Time (A Mixtape by Dustin Wong & Takako Minekawa)

Best known as guitarist to Baltimore, USA-based rock band Ponytail (who released three albums in the mid 2000’s), Dustin Wong has also released solo albums to international acclaim; most recently 2013’s ‘Mediation of Ecstatic Energy’ which saw Wong continue his pursuit of deeply personal and highly charged works composed of looped solo electric guitar to spellbinding effect. Takako Minekawa first rose to international prominence as a Shibuya-kei singer in the mid-90s with the song ‘Fantastic Cat‘ and her albums ‘Roomic Cube‘ and ‘Cloudy Cloud Calculator‘. She has collaborated with Ryuichi Sakamoto, Cornelius, Buffalo Daughter, Dymaxion, and others. Dustin and Takako will tour Asia and North America this fall as a duo. ‘Savage Imagination’ by Dustin Wong & Takako Minekawa will be available on 22nd September via Thrill Jockey Records.

To listen on Mixcloud:



01. Yasuaki Shimizu ‘Tachikawa’ [Crammed Discs]
02. Mariah ‘Shonen’ [Shan-Shan]
03. Stewart Copeland ‘Music Box’ [IRS]
04. Pyrolator ‘Im Zoo’ [Wave (Japan) / Ata Tak]
05. Malcolm Mclaren ‘Aria on Air’ [Virgin]
06. Ann Steel ‘My Time’ [Barclay / WEA International Inc.]
07. Hannah Diamond ‘Pink and Blue’ [PC Music]
08. Ja Ja Ja ‘I am an Animal’ [Ata Tak]
09. Steve Vai ‘Little Green Men’ [Urantia / Food For Thought]
10. Kazumi Totaka ‘Yoshi’s Story’ [Pony Canyon Inc.]
11. Jean Michel Jarre ‘Zoolookologie’ [Polydor]
12. Miharu Koshi ‘Yube no Inori’ [Non-Standard / Pick Up]
13. Eiichi Ohtaki ‘Peppermint Blue’ [CBS/Sony]




‘Savage Imagination’ by Dustin Wong & Takako Minekawa will be available via Thrill Jockey on 22nd September 2014.


To follow Fractured Air you can do so on Facebook HERE, & Twitter HERE.


Written by admin

August 27, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: