The universe is making music all the time

Ten Mile Stereo

leave a comment »

A selection of some of the albums we’ve been listening to lately. 

Boards Of Canada “Tomorrow’s Harvest” (Warp)
In today’s day and age you may be forgiven for thinking the days of the “eagerly awaited” album is a thing of the past. However, Warp’s legendary Boards of Canada’s “Tomorrow’s Harvest” has easily been the most hotly-anticipated album in a long time. The resulting seventeen tracks presented on the “Tomorrow’s Harvest” cut confirms the legendary status of Mike Sandison and Marcus Eoin’s Boards Of Canada, the Scottish electronic duo who have become a genre onto themselves at this stage.


Justin Walter “Lullabies & Nightmares” (kranky)
One of the true musical treasures this year so far has been Brooklyn-based (born in Michigan) composer Justin Walter’s debut LP “Lullabies & Nightmares”. An album which has all the hallmarks of a work of art which has been painstakingly created over many years. In Walter’s words: “”I set out to record an album of completely improvised music that fused my experiments with the Electronic Valve Instrument and my love of held sounds on the trumpet.”


John Lemke “People Do” (Denovali)
This July marks the release of John Lemke’s debut album “People Do”, a stunning selection crossing genres at will – encompassing all the beauty and artistry of the neoclassical realm while embodying the cool charm and electronic textures of the best in the ambient/electronic scene. Born in Berlin, Lemke currently resides in Glasgow. The album is mastered by Germany’s Nils Frahm at his Durton Studio. Also essential is Lemke’s “Walizka” EP, a digital only release to anticipate the debut full length which will be issued by the constantly innovative German-based Denovali Records.


amiina “The Lighthouse Project” (Sound Of A Handshake)
If someone wished to find a single album to demonstrate the magical quality only music can capture (and impart) look no further than Icelandic sextet amiina’s current collection “The Lighthouse Project.” Recorded live, the album recalls the inimitable charm of early Tiersen compositions. Also features a beautiful cover of Lee Hazelwood’s “Leather and Lace”. Available on Morr Music’s Sound Of A Handshake imprint.


Áine O’ Dwyer ” Anything bright or startling?” (Second Language)
Released by London-based Second Language at the beginning of June, “Anything bright or startling?” comprises a song cycle of fragile beauty and ambitious scope recalling the likes of Joanna Newsom and Nico. O’ Dwyer is a firmly established harpist and collaborator (Mark Fry & The A Lords, Cloisters, Piano Magic) while a collection of church organ études, “Music For Church Cleaners”, comprised O’ Dwyer’s first solo recording.


Anika “EP” (Stones Throw)
Follow-up to much talked about debut self-titled album by Anika, produced By Portishead/Beak’s Geoff Barrow. The EP comprises an array of incredible covers (featuring The Kinks’ ‘I Go To Sleep’ and The Crystals/Phil Spector classic ‘He Hit Me (It Felt Like A Kiss’). Aesthetically, Anika’s music takes much influence from the vintage past where the spirit of Nico particularly haunts. The highlight for me is Anika’s bold take on the Chromatics classic “In The City”, where Johnny Jewel’s über cool hit gets wonderfully deconstructed.


Lucrecia Dalt “Commotus” (Human Ear Music)
I first came across Barcelona’s Lucrecia Dalt from her track “Silencio” where Julia Holter adds harmonium. Released by Berlin’s Human Ear Music label, “Commotus” is an album of breathtaking imagination which reveals more and more on every visit. Similar in style to such labels as RVNG INTL (Holter, Herndon) and free spirits as Dirty Beaches and Nicolas Jaar, the album reveals such diverse influences as Enio Morricone, Brian Eno, Moondog and Julianna Barwick.


I Am The Cosmos “Monochrome” (Self-Relelased)
“Monochrome” is the debut LP from Dublin dance/electronic duo I Am The Cosmos. The album comprises an irresistibly cool, New Wave inspired late night collection recalling the many delights on the Italians Do It Better label (Chromatics, Symmetry, Desire) plus such acts as New Order and Junior Boys. A fine array of synths, drum machines and groove-heavy bass lines combine with an effortless pop sensibility and a keen penchant for melody.


Date Palms “The Dusted Sessions” (Thrill Jockey)
Chicago’s Thrill Jockey label (home to such artists as Mountains, Stygian Stride, The Sea And Cake) issued “The Dusted Sessions” at the beginning of June. Comprising principally the duo of Kranky ambient man Gregg Kowalsky (keys, electronics) and Marielle Jacobsons (violin, flute, electronics), Date Palms effortlessly navigate a dust-swept American West across its seven pieces – recalling such luminaries as Laurie Spiegel, Ry Cooder and Alice Coltrane in the process.


Money “The Shadow Of Heaven” (Bella Union)
Money’s debut full-length album won’t be out until August 26th, so in the meantime we can still marvel at the Manchester four-piece’s debut single release for Bella Union – “Bluebell Fields” – an irresistible gem overflowing at the brim with effortless hooks and timeless melody. Prior to the Bella Union LP “The Shadow Of Heaven” comes the single “Hold Me Forever”.


Written by admin

June 12, 2013 at 10:20 am

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: