The universe is making music all the time

Step Right Up: Fresh Snow

with one comment

Fresh Snow are a four-piece based in Toronto, Ontario. Their debut single “Saturation Complete” is an amazing 12 minute journey into the heart of Krautrock, touching bases with Can, Kraftwerk, Spacemen 3 and Ennio Morricone along the way. A debut full length album should see the light of day this year which will propel this Canadian band to the big time with great things in-store for a bright future.

Words & Illustration: Craig Carry


In our recent interview with Pick A Piper/Caribou’s Brad Weber, we asked him to tell us his current favourite bands from the Toronto music scene. The three bands he recommended (as well as the DJ collective Invisible City DJs and the fifteen-piece folk ensemble The Lemon Bucket Orkestra) included this Toronto, Ontario four-piece Fresh Snow. The following is what Brad had to say about them:

“Psych/noise/kraut group with one of my best pals Andy Lloyd on bass. Their live shows are insane. Sometimes they play inside of a pod with projections on all sides, sometimes they have a 4-piece horn/string section. I actually have no idea what to expect, ever, so I love them.”

We were intrigued, to put it mildly. So, exploring further, we soon discovered their debut single entitled “Saturation Complete” (the 3″ CD is unfortunately sold out, but it is available as a download). What an incredible song it is! At 12 minutes in length it infuses the sounds of Can, Kraftwerk, Spacemen 3 and Ennio Morricone (no less) into a twelve-minute musical treasure. Fresh Snow themselves feature Bradley Davis (guitars), Andy Lloyd (bass), Jon Maki (drums) and Tim Condon. This is what Fresh Snow say about their sound: “…“We play small amounts of notes for long amounts of time!”

Prior to ‘Saturation Complete’ came a split 7” record with METZ, another mighty Toronto band. Interestingly, the Metz contribution was in fact their wonderful cover of “Pig” by Sparklehorse (the opener to 1998’s “Good Morning Spider”). The record was a limited edition release by the Sonic Boom Recording Company. Fresh Snow’s website features the review done at the time of the release, by

“…A thunderstorm of mind-fucking psych rock from Fresh Snow, embellished with trumpets, noise, and trumpet noise. After three minutes, the insanity gives way and we’re left to shrivel in the darkness as the hurricane recedes into the distance.”

As of December last year, the band announced that their debut album was being mastered by James Plotkin (OLD, Khanate). If “Saturation Complete” is anything to go by, expect Fresh Snow’s debut full-length to be an essential album providing for a very special occasion indeed.


Written by admin

March 22, 2013 at 11:27 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] great website from Ireland called Fractured Air wrote some kind words about us and made this excellent graphic… Illustration: Craig […]


    April 11, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: